Visa Requirements

Visas can be issued at the port of entry unless the visitor is a national of a country whose applications for Visas require approval from the Director General of Immigration.  (See below).

The KAZA UNIVISA for Zambia and Zimbabwe is a single Visa for both countries, it costs US$50 and is valid for 30 days.  See here for more information

An e-Visa application is available for some nationalities.  

For all Visas your passport should be valid for a minimum period of 6 months from the date of entry into Zambia and have 2 blank pages.

From January 2014 VISA and other fees can be paid for with bankcards at the following Zambia airports:

Kenneth Kaunda International Airport in Lusaka
Harry Mwaanga Nkumbula International Airport in Livingstone
Simon Mwansa Kapwepwe International Airport in Ndola

The following cards will be accepted:

Maestro and
American Express


TOURIST - any person travelling to Zambia on a tour organised through a tour operator or travel agent.
PRIVATE VISITOR  -  any person visiting friends or relatives
          Any person visiting Zambia to transact business, attend meetings or conferences.
          An employee, paid by a non-Zambian based employer, or a volunteer entering Zambia for a short period to work.
          A consultant visiting Zambia to advise or train.
TRANSIT - a person transiting through Zambia using land transport
DAY TRIPPER - a tourist who visits Zambia for less than 24hours and makes exit through the same port as they entered.

Visa Application Forms are available from the Zambia Department of Immigration website.


Single Entry US $50
Double Entry US $80
Multiple Entry US $80
Transit US $50
Day Tripper US $20
Gratis Free


Nationals who do not require a VISA

Anguilla Mauritius
Antigua and Bermuda Montserrat
Australian Antarctic Territory Mozambique
Bahamas Namibia
Barbados Nauru
Belize Niue
Bermuda Norfolk Island
Botswana Pitcairn Islands
British Antarctic Territory Romania
British Indian Ocean Territory Ross Dependency
British Virgin Islands St. Helena
Cayman Islands St. Kitts and Nevis
Channel Islands St. Lucia
Cook Island St. Vincent and Grenadines
Cyprus Samoa
Dominica Serbia-Montenegro
Falkland Islands Seychelles
Falkland Islands Dependencies Singapore
Fiji Islands Solomon Islands
Gibraltar South Africa
Grenada Swaziland
Ireland Tanzania
Isle of Man Tokelau
Jamaica Tonga
Kenya Trinidad and Tobago
Kiribati Tuvalu
Lesotho Turks and Caicos Island
Malawi Uganda
Malaysia Vanuatu
Maldives Western Samoa
Malta Zimbabwe


Nationals requiring VISAs - can be issued at the port of entry or through a Zambian Embassy abroad

Albania  Iceland
Andorra  Israel
Angola  Italy
Argentina  Japan
Australia  Kazakhstan
Austria  Laos
Belarus  Latvia
Belgium  Liechtenstein
Bhutan  Lithuania
Bolivia  Luxembourg
Bosnia and Herzegovina  Macedonia
Brazil  Madagascar
Britain  Mexico
Brunei  Moldova
Bulgaria  Monaco
Burma (Myanmar)  Mongolia
Burundi  Netherlands
Cambodia  New Caledonia
Canada  New Zealand
Chile  Nicaragua
Colombia  Norway
Comoros  Panama
Congo Brazzaville  Peru
Cook Islands  Philippines
Costarica  Poland
Croatia  Portugal
Cuba  Puerto Rico
Czech Republic  Russia
Democratic Republic of Congo  Rwanda
Denmark  Saotome and Prince
Djibouti  Slovakia Republic
Ecuador  Slovenia Republic
Egypt  South Korea
Eritrea  Spain
Estonia  Sweden
Finland  Switzerland
France  Thailand
Georgia  Turkey
German  Ukraine
Ghana  United Arab Emirates
Greece  United Kingdom (UK)
Guatemala  United States of America
Guyana  Uruguay
Haiti  Venezuela
Honduras  Vietnam
Hungary  Western Sahara


Nationals whose applications for VISAS require approval from the Director General of Immigration

Afghanistan Libya
Algeria Mali
Armenia Mauritania
Azerbaijan Morocco
Bahrain Nepal
Bangladesh Niger
Benin Nigeria
Burkina Faso Oman
Cameroon Pakistan
Central Africa Republic Palestine
Chad Papa New Guinea
China Qatar
Equatorial Guinea Saudi Arabia
Ethiopia Senegal
Gabon Sierra Leone
Gambia Somalia
Guinea Bissau South Sudan
Guinea Conakry Sri-Lanka
India Sudan
Indonesia Syria
Iran Taiwan
Iraq Tajikistan
Ivory Coast Togo
Jordan Tunisia
Korea North Turkmenistan
Kuwait Turkmenistan
Kyrgyzstan Uzbekistan
Lebanon Yemen